Where We Are

One of the larger school jurisdictions in Alberta, Prairie Land is a sparsely populated jurisdiction encompassing approximately 15500 square kilometres in the East-Central region of the province. The division has seven K to 12 schools, one K to 9, an online Christian Academy and 10 Hutterite Colony Schools. This year has also seen Prairie Land Division open Al Amal Academy - a full-time K-9 Muslim educational institute - in northwest Calgary. A student enrollment of approximately 2000 students creates a great environment for smaller class sizes and excellent pupil teacher ratios. There isn't a better place to start a teaching career!!!!

The central office is located in Hanna with schools in Hanna, Morrin, Delia, Cessford, Youngstown, Veteran, Consort, Altario and northwest Calgary. Colony schools are spread across the division. The division itself extends from Drumheller in the southwest corner to the Saskatchewan border in the northeast corner, and the Red Deer River north of Brooks in the south to Veteran in the north.